Booking Through Thursday #1 Ideal

Booking Through Thursday

Okay, I know, it’s Saturday now. Booking Through Thursday is supposed to be on Thursdays. Tapi ya gimana lagi, saya taunya telat sih. Eniwei, saya akan menjawab pertanyaan 30 Mei:

I want you to think about your ideal reading experience. Think about the location. (Your bed? Favorite chair? The beach? Indoors or outdoors?). Think about the sounds. (Is there music playing? Happy children playing in the background? Utter silence?) Is there a snack or beverage nearby? Are you alone or with friends/family (presumably being quiet enough for you to read in peace)? What kind of lighting is there? Are you dressed in something ultra-comfy? What’s your position? Curled up? Stretched out?

Now … describe it so that we can all feel exactly how perfect it is … and why.

Sumber Gambar: Green Metropolis

Tempat ideal saya baca selama ini kayaknya… back home. Tempat paling enak selama ini adalah… mungkin ini tempatnya agak aneh ya… tempat jemuran, di atas kasur yang lagi dijemur (outdoor). Sebelumnya, perlu saya jelasin dulu seperti apa kota kelahiran saya ini. Kabupaten ini letaknya di daerah pegunungan, tepatnya di lereng 2 gunung. Akibatnya, daerah ini cukup dingin. Kurang-lebih seperti Bandung.

Yang saya ingat, sehari2 di langit hampir selalu ada awan tipis, dan hujan sering datang bahkan pada musim kemarau. Buat saya, hari cerah tanpa mendung terasa seperti sebuah privillege. On those sunny Sundays and holidays, saya sering mengangkat sendiri kasur kapuk segede separo tempat tidur king size ke tempat jemuran di atas. Berasa kayak Hulk. Kasur itu gede banget loh. Kapuk pula. Terus, sekalian jemur kasur, saya ambil buku, or just anything to read, plus selembar kain tipis, dan baca dengan sembunyi di bawah kain itu dengan posisi tiduran telungkup (on my stomach).

It was the warmest paradise. You see, even if our home was often cold to the point of freezing, we never bought a heater. Saya bahkan ga ngerti heater itu kayak apa dan gimana sebelum liat di film/acara TV barat dan drama Jepang (tau kotatsu?). So, the sun was my only source of warmth, besides my mom’s cuddle.

Anyways, it was my perfect, warm, little haven. Saya bisa berjam2 di bawah matahari hanya dengan selembar kain itu. It was never hot, but I’d just hate to get sunburned. Kalo kelaperan, saya bawa sepiring nasi+sayur+lauk di atas kasur itu. Buat saya, makan ga sambil baca (atau kalo sekarang nonton) itu bagai sayur tanpa garam. Hehe.

It was often breezy. But it was always rather quiet, my family-of-five heard in the background. Sometimes mom would call me to help her in the kitchen right below where I was reading. It was not a fancy place. There was no fancy stuff. It was in between putting laundry out to dry or cooking the family lunch. But it was perfect. It was home.

2 responses to “Booking Through Thursday #1 Ideal

What do you think?

